Socks

I love socks. I’m probably the only autistic person on the planet who loves them. I especially like bright colourful ones and ones with animals on. I currently have over 40 and my aim is to reach 100. Imagine 100 pairs of socks ๐Ÿ˜ฎ sounds like heaven.

This is what my sock drawer looks like:

IMG01186-20160416-0930.jpg

I love lining them up. I like my socks to be neat and tidy. I wear them in a certain order so each pair gets the chance to be worn.

For my birthday my mother-in-law bought me some new socks. I was very excited. Here’s some pics of them:

It’s so exciting getting new socks. I’ve currently wearing the pale purple pair on the bottom row.

For most autistic people, socks are a source of discomfort. When I was younger they were for me too, I used to hate wearing them and (shudder) used to wear shoes without any socks. I don’t know what changed, I think it was in my late teens/early 20’s. It was a period of great change for me so it seems to have been something else that changed too, but for the better. I can’t imagine not wearing socks everyday, I love them. Every shop I go into I’m tempted to buy more.

I could talk about socks everyday. I love putting freshly cleaned socks away and admiring them in their lines in the sock drawer. If I could I would create a storage device which would have my socks in one big long line, with a bit at the bottom where you can take a pair at a time. A bit like in vending machines with one item coming out of the bottom at a time. I could put new socks in at the top and get them out at the bottom. I’d design my whole bedroom wardrobe around it.

I love collecting and wearing my socks. I could never get tired of trying on new ones. I suppose it’s a bit like some people’s fondness for shoes. I’d have a sock wardrobe and model socks. My fav colours are purple, black, greyย and bright blue. My favs are stripy. One pair I have has the cutest little heghogs on them. I have Christmas/winter ones which I wear all year around. I have Superdry ones. Not one single pair I own are just plain black or white, those are boring, I have some one colour ones and loads of multi-colour/multi-patterned ones.

I love socks.

2 thoughts on “Socks

  1. I can’t say I love socks as much as you ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I also love to organise and look at the things I’ve organised such as this and wonder if you’ve tried the Kon Mari method of folding for your socks? Thought it might appeal as a) it looks really neat, b) you can see all the patterns clearly and (probably most importantly) c) you can fit lots more in. Love the randomness of this post ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

